30/03/2022   Podebrady (CZE): Saturday 2 April the first Gold Level of the Race Walking Tour



On April 2, 2022, the Podebrady International Race Walking Meeting will celebrate a significant milestone, that of the 90th anniversary.

For the occasion, the organizers obtained from World Athletics the pride of being the first Gold Label test of the newly formed Race Walking Tour
Furthermore, as per tradition, Podebrady also represents the moment of an International Match between France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Slovakia and the Czech Republic.
The list of entries is of high level, with some of the best known names on the international scene of both male and female in 20km walk.
In fact, 91 male and 60 female athletes are currently entered, who will be accompanied by 50 male U20 athletes and 43 female U20 athletes.
Finally, 14 U18 boys and 30 U18 girls and the usual handful of veteran athletes who are always present at this interesting test should present themselves at the start on the 5km.
In the 20km men the most important athletes are Miguel Angel Lopez (ESP - 1:19:14), Luis Alberto Amezcua (ESP - 1:19:46), Francesco Fortunato (ITA - 1:19:43), but above all Eider Arevalo (COL - 1:18:53) and Gaius Bonfim (BRA - 1:18:47).
But the main favorite should be Perseus Karlstrom (SWE - 1:18:07)
In the women's 20km we believe that no athlete will be able to worry Maria Perez (ESP - 1:26:36) who has already made an interesting performance this season (1:27:40) on Feb. 13, 2022 in Pamplona (ESP).
The most interesting opponents should be Alegna Aryday Gonzalez (MEX - 1:28:40) and the two stainless ones Ana Cabecinha (POR - 1:27:46) and Valentina Trapletti (ITA - 1:29:57).
It will also be interesting to see the two Ecuadorian stars (Johana Ordonez - 1:31:36 and Magali Beatriz Bonilla - 1:31:36) at the 20km race respectively classified 9th and 6th at the beginning of the month at the World Race Walking Team Championships of Muscat in the 35km.
A few words about the jury:
World Athletics Technical Delegate is Steve Taylor (GBR)
Chief Judge is Miloslav Lapka (CZE)
Race judges: Frederic Bianchi (SUI), Janusz Kryniki (POL), Emmanuel Tardi (FRA), Hans Van der Knaap (NED), Martin Skarba (SVK)
Prize money awards for the two 20km men and women:
- 1st place: Euro 1.000
- 2nd place: Euro 700
- 3rd place: Euro 500
- 4th place: Euro 300
- 5th place: Euro 100

Entry list